Lasertonic by Flora Litchfield

The body of work is called Lasertonic – as a a tonic’ is something that makes you feel better or happier: imparting vitality and energy.

There is no denying that covid-19: has had a major impact on mental health. The ONS figures reveal that the rate of depression in Great Britain has doubled during the covid-19 pandemic.

I recognise that Art has a broader influence and I would love to share my work Lasertonic’ as a respite to our current circumstance.

During covid-19, I have become increasingly interested in human experience and the role colour & sound has upon affecting our mood and emotions.

Studies have shown that colours with shorter wavelengths such as blue and green evoke feelings of calmness. In Chromotherapy (colour therapy) colour is used to improve health and alter your mood.

Lasertonic’- is an immersive laser light installation exploring human perception through spatial audio-visual compositions. Using Chromotherapy and Cymatics principles, I create large optical illusions and laser projection map them onto a buildings and walls; these are accompanied by spatial soundscapes.

I wish for the installation to transform its surroundings into a meditative environment for quiet contemplation. The colourfully modulating laser light, synchronous to the spatially animating sound, creates a hypnotising environment for the subconscious mind, calming the senses.

I am incredibly passionate about how we can use technology and art to better people lives.

Flora Litchfield is a Laserist and Visual Artist based in Edinburgh – working with light, nature and mediation.

“Within my practice, I like to explore how I can shift space by using light. I am passionate about the crossover between art, technology and landscape.

The work I create focuses on chromotherapy (colour therapy) and geometry within nature.

During covid-19, I became increasingly interested in human experience and the role colour & sound has upon affecting our mood and emotions.

I began my career as a Freelance Laser Light Artist and Technician in 2018. Having graduated from Art College, knowing I wanted to work closely with Light & Sound, I began freelancing for a visual production team and working with lasers. “

Since then, I have exhibited my work at light festivals such as –

Light Waves, Salford Quays 2021

Leeds Light Night 2021

Light up Lancaster 2021

Laser Light City 2020

SPECTRA 2019

www.flo-lux.com

Leave a comment